menu

Comparative Literature and Culture

Affiliated to Comparative Literature menu

Affiliated to Comparative Literature

Adrian Armstrong

Centenary Professor of French / Head of School (2014-17)
Room : Arts One 209A
+44 (0)20 7882 8316
a.armstrong@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval French literature, book form, scholarly editing

Elena Carrera

Senior Lecturer In Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One 127
+44 (0)20 7882 8429
e.carrera@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : History of ideas, critical theory, early modern autobiography, gender and power in early modern Spain, history of madness, the emotions in medieval and early modern Europe

OMAR GARCÍA

DEAN FOR TAUGHT PROGRAMMES (UNDERGRADUATE AND POSTGRADUATE), FACULTY OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES
Room : Arts One 134
+44 (0)20 7882 8302
o.a.garcia@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Migration, Multilingualism & Culture; Censorship, Exile & Cultural Resistance; Contemporary Iberian & Latin American Studies (Cuba, Central America, & Spain); Poetry, Drama, Art and Film; Comparative Literature and Culture

Martina Deny

German Language Studies Co-Ordinator, Year Abroad Co-Ordinator
Room : Arts One 2.01
+44 (0)20 7882 8301
m.deny@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : London Literature, Representations of Space and Place, Identity Theory, Anglo-German Studies

Robert Gillett

Reader in German and Comparative Cultural Studies
Room : Arts One 203
+44 (0)20 7882 8303
r.m.gillett@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : German, Austrian and Comparative Cultural Studies from 1800 to the present day, especially feminist and queer studies, the work of Hubert Fichte and theatre history

Rudiger

Rüdiger Görner

Chair of Department
Room : Arts One 2.06
+44 (0)20 7882 8304
r.goerner@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : European Romanticism, Hölderlin's aftermath, Nietzsche's aesthetics, the Tower as a literary motif, the History of Anglo-German cultural relations, Life & Work of Oskar Kokoschka

Jeremy Hicks

Reader in Russian Culture and Film
Room : Arts One 243
+44 (0)20 7882 8306
j.g.hicks@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Soviet film and World War Two, Soviet Film and the Holocaust, Reception of Soviet film in the West (1920s-40s), Dziga Vertov, Mikhail Zoshchenko, Soviet literature (1920s-40s)

Shirley Jordan

Professor of French Literature and Visual Culture
Room : Arts One 101
+44 (0)20 7882 8310
s.a.jordan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Twentieth- and twenty-first century French and Francophone literature and visual culture, new women's writing in French, feminisms, autofiction, photography

Anna Kemp

Lecturer in French
Room : Arts One 209B
+44 (0)20 7882 8288
a.kemp@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Twentieth and twenty-first century French and Francophone writing. Feminist literary criticism. Art and writing by women. Colonial and postcolonial writing by women. Life-writing. OuLiPo.

Astrid

Astrid Köhler

Reader in German
Room : Arts One 205
+44 (0)20 7882 8312
a.kohler@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Cultural History of late 18th & early 19th Century Germany, East German Authors before and after German Re-unification

Alasdair King

Chair of Arts DEB (PGT).
Room : Arts One 208
+44 (0)20 7882 8311
a.king@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : film philosophy, political aesthetics, finance aesthetics, cinema and space, German cinema

Rosa Vidal Doval

Departmental exams coordinator
Room : Arts One 1.26
+44 (0)20 7882 8430
r.vidal@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval Spanish history, anti-Semitism, conversos, religious polemics, preaching and sermons

Parvati Nair

Professor of Hispanic, Cultural and Migration Studies
Room : Arts One 118
+44 (0)20 7882 8317
p.nair@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Theories and representations of migration, mobility, urban spaces, displacement, ethnicity and gender

Martina Ruf

OeAD-Lektorin
Room : Arts One 2.02
+44-(0)20-7882-8917
m.ruf@qmul.ac.uk

Andreas Schönle

Professor of Russian, Fellow of the British Academy
Room : Arts One 242
+44 (0)20 7882 8329
a.schonle@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Russian and comparative literature 1790-1890, literary and cultural theory. Particular interests include the semiotic fashioning of space (gardens, cities, travels), the perception of ruins, and cultural constructions of time

Nozomi Uematsu

Associate Lecturer & Teaching Assistant
n.uematsu@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative Literature, Modern Japanese Literature, English Literature, Gender and Sexuality, Literary Theory, Queer Theory, Comparative Feminism

Return to top