menu

Comparative Literature and Culture

People menu

People

Adrian Armstrong

Centenary Professor of French / Head of School (2014-17)
Room : Arts One 209A
+44 (0)20 7882 8316
a.armstrong@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval French literature, book form, scholarly editing

Sharon Bernor

Programme Administrator (Postgraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8332
s.j.bernor@qmul.ac.uk

Nepa Brownsmith

Resources Manager
Room : Bancroft Building 120a
+44 (0)20 7882 2678
n.brownsmith@qmul.ac.uk

Elena Carrera

Senior Lecturer In Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One 127
+44 (0)20 7882 8429
e.carrera@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : History of ideas, critical theory, early modern autobiography, gender and power in early modern Spain, history of madness, the emotions in medieval and early modern Europe

Annabel Cox

Chair of SSLC, Web Editor
Room : 2.12
a.cox@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Cuban-American literature, fictions of migration and adolescence, the literature of madness

Martina Deny

German Language Studies Co-Ordinator, Year Abroad Co-Ordinator
Room : Arts One 2.01
+44 (0)20 7882 8301
m.deny@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : London Literature, Representations of Space and Place, Identity Theory, Anglo-German Studies

Margit Dirscherl

Lecturer in Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 211
+44 (0)20 7882 2683
margit.dirscherl@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : 19th- and 20th- century German and European literature

Edward Donovan

Administrator, Foundation Programmes
Room : Bancroft Building 124
+44 (0)20 7882 2829
e.donovan@qmul.ac.uk

Rosa Vidal Doval

Departmental exams coordinator
Room : Arts One 1.26
+44 (0)20 7882 8430
r.vidal@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval Spanish history, anti-Semitism, conversos, religious polemics, preaching and sermons

Ian Ericson

External Liaison Manager
Room : F.B. 1.24
ext. 8137
i.ericson@qmul.ac.uk

Jill Evans

Head of Administration
Room : Arts One 1.03
+44 (0)20 7882 8300
j.k.evans@qmul.ac.uk

OMAR GARCÍA

DEAN FOR TAUGHT PROGRAMMES (UNDERGRADUATE AND POSTGRADUATE), FACULTY OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES
Room : Arts One 134
+44 (0)20 7882 8302
o.a.garcia@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Migration, Multilingualism & Culture; Censorship, Exile & Cultural Resistance; Contemporary Iberian & Latin American Studies (Cuba, Central America, & Spain); Poetry, Drama, Art and Film; Comparative Literature and Culture

Robert Gillett

Reader in German and Comparative Cultural Studies
Room : Arts One 203
+44 (0)20 7882 8303
r.m.gillett@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : German, Austrian and Comparative Cultural Studies from 1800 to the present day, especially feminist and queer studies, the work of Hubert Fichte and theatre history

Lucie Glasheen

PhD Student
Room : Francis Bancroft Building, Room 2.11.
l.glasheen@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : East London, children’s play, playgrounds, children’s literature and film, urban studies, cultural historical geography, utopias, interdisciplinarity

Spela Gruden

Programme Administrator (In-Sessional and Pre-Sessional Programmes)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 (0)20 7882 2827
s.gruden@qmul.ac.uk

Rudiger

Rüdiger Görner

Chair of Department
Room : Arts One 2.06
+44 (0)20 7882 8304
r.goerner@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : European Romanticism, Hölderlin's aftermath, Nietzsche's aesthetics, the Tower as a literary motif, the History of Anglo-German cultural relations, Life & Work of Oskar Kokoschka

Birgitta Hall

Year Abroad Development Manager
Room : Arts One 108
+44 (0)20 7882 5909
b.y.hall@qmul.ac.uk

Heather Heiner

Exams and Assessment Officer (Postgraduate & Foundation Programmes)
Room : Bancroft 124
+44 20 7882 6640
h.heiner@qmul.ac.uk

Jeremy Hicks

Reader in Russian Culture and Film
Room : Arts One 243
+44 (0)20 7882 8306
j.g.hicks@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Soviet film and World War Two, Soviet Film and the Holocaust, Reception of Soviet film in the West (1920s-40s), Dziga Vertov, Mikhail Zoshchenko, Soviet literature (1920s-40s)

Andrew Hines

PhD Student
a.hines@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Conceptual and intellectual history, theories of metaphor, theories of ideology, the relationship between metaphor and ideology and the use of metaphor in political and religious discourse, contemporary problems in theories of interpretation, philosophy and literature, French and German thought since Kant, Nietzsche.

Shirley Jordan

Professor of French Literature and Visual Culture
Room : Arts One 101
+44 (0)20 7882 8310
s.a.jordan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Twentieth- and twenty-first century French and Francophone literature and visual culture, new women's writing in French, feminisms, autofiction, photography

Anna Kemp

Lecturer in French
Room : Arts One 209B
+44 (0)20 7882 8288
a.kemp@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Twentieth and twenty-first century French and Francophone writing. Feminist literary criticism. Art and writing by women. Colonial and postcolonial writing by women. Life-writing. OuLiPo.

Alasdair King

Chair of Arts DEB (PGT).
Room : Arts One 208
+44 (0)20 7882 8311
a.king@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : film philosophy, political aesthetics, finance aesthetics, cinema and space, German cinema

Astrid

Astrid Köhler

Reader in German
Room : Arts One 205
+44 (0)20 7882 8312
a.kohler@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Cultural History of late 18th & early 19th Century Germany, East German Authors before and after German Re-unification

Will McMorran

Senior Lecturer In French & Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 115
+44 (0) 20 7882 8315
w.s.mcmorran@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative Literature, the Marquis de Sade, Fiction and Ethics, Cognitive Approaches to Reading Fiction

Parvati Nair

Professor of Hispanic, Cultural and Migration Studies
Room : Arts One 118
+44 (0)20 7882 8317
p.nair@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Theories and representations of migration, mobility, urban spaces, displacement, ethnicity and gender

Angus Nicholls

Reader in German and Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 211
+44 (0)20 7882 2683
a.j.nicholls@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Literature and the human sciences, literary theory, literature and philosophy, German thought 1750 until the present, Anglo-German cultural relations, theories of myth, Goethe, German intellectuals in Australia and Britain.

Leonard Olschner

Centenary Professor of German & Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 212
+44 (0)20 7882 8320
l.m.olschner@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative literature, German literature, Goethe, Lichtenberg, twentieth-century poetry, German-Jewish writing, literature of the Shoah, exile studies, Paul Celan, Theodor W. Adorno, translation and translation studies.

Shital Pravinchandra

Lecturer in Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 119B
020 7882 5738
s.pravinchandra@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Postcolonial studies, Literatures of South Asia, World literature, Medical humanities, Contemporary Anglophone literature

Julia Rollitt

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One, room 1.08
+44 20 7882 8331
j.m.rollitt@qmul.ac.uk

Martina Ruf

OeAD-Lektorin
Room : Arts One 2.02
+44-(0)20-7882-8917
m.ruf@qmul.ac.uk

Andreas Schönle

Professor of Russian, Fellow of the British Academy
Room : Arts One 242
+44 (0)20 7882 8329
a.schonle@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Russian and comparative literature 1790-1890, literary and cultural theory. Particular interests include the semiotic fashioning of space (gardens, cities, travels), the perception of ruins, and cultural constructions of time

Rosine Smyrl

Student Experience Manager
Room : ArtsOne 103a
+44 (0)20 7882 2825
r.smyrl@qmul.ac.uk

Lisa Stubbings

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8314
l.stubbings@qmul.ac.uk

Galin Tihanov

George Steiner Professor of Comparative Literature and SLLF Director of Graduate Studies
Room : Arts One 214
+44 (0)20 7882 5912
g.tihanov@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative Literature and Intellectual History; Genealogies of Cosmopolitanism; Narratives of Exile and Diasporic Cultures; Cultural and Literary Theory; World Literatures; Constructions of European Identity; The Future of the Humanities

Hazel Tsoi-Wiles

Resources Administrator
Room : 1.24 Bancroft Building
ext. 6636
h.tsoi-wiles@qmul.ac.uk

Nozomi Uematsu

Associate Lecturer & Teaching Assistant
n.uematsu@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative Literature, Modern Japanese Literature, English Literature, Gender and Sexuality, Literary Theory, Queer Theory, Comparative Feminism

Kiera Vaclavik

Co-founder and Co-Director of the Centre for the Study of Childhood Culture (with the V&A Museum of Childhood); Co-Organiser of the Children's Literature/Children's Lives research cluster
Room : Arts One 138
+44 (0)20 7882 8333
k.e.vaclavik@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Children's literature and childhood culture, Lewis Carroll, world literature, fashion, space and place

Return to top